Posted by: wadahp | November 3, 2009

RICHARD MOE ANNOUNCES RETIREMENT FROM NATIONAL TRUST

Dear Friends:

A few minutes ago I announced to the National Trust staff that I will be retiring next year, and I want to share that news with all of you as well. It is a decision I have arrived at in recent months because I have concluded it is time for the Trust as well as time for me. Every organization from time to time needs to revitalize itself by seeking a generation change of leadership to take it to a new level. After 17 years in this position, I believe this is such a time for the Trust.

It has been a wonderful time for me, really the best professional experience I have ever had, and I feel so privileged and so grateful to have had the opportunity. The thing I feel best about is the quality of work we have been able to do together and of course the friendships that I have been fortunate enough to develop with so many talented and dedicated people. I believe we have made a real difference in communities and at historic places all over the country, and I hope you share my pride in that fact.

I have told the board that I will stay until a successor is chosen, and that will most likely be sometime next spring. Chairman Cliff Hudson has established a search committee of board members and retained the professional services of Mary Tydings at Russell Reynolds to conduct a national search for the position. My highest priority in these next months is to do everything possible to ensure the smoothest possible transition, and I would appreciate your help in that effort. Until a new president arrives, things will remain very much the same. I intend to pursue our work every bit as enthusiastically as ever, and I have no doubt you will as well.

I’m not saying goodbye because I will be around a good while yet and there will be ample opportunity for that.

In the meantime, all the best.

Dick

Richard Moe, President

National Trust for Historic Preservation

Responses

  1. Congragulations Dick, I too am retiring at the end of this year after 16 years as the City of Wenatchee, Washington’s historic preservation officer. I feel like I am in good company with you! I have admired your leadership skills to take the National Trust to a new level of “being” and I also valued the opportunity to meet you many years ago in Spokane at the Davenport Hotel before it was restored. I was on the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation board and continued to be involved with the Trust today. All my best wishes to you and thank you for such important work that you have done for our nation!


Leave a Reply

Categories

