Posted by: wadahp | November 17, 2009


The Historic American Building Survey (HABS) office of the National Park Service has announced the 2010 Charles E. Peterson Prize Competition. The Peterson Prize annually recognizes the best sets of architectural measured drawings of historic buildings produced by college students and submitted for inclusion in the HABS Collection at the Library of Congress. The Prize, jointly sponsored with the Athenaeum of Philadelphia and the American Institute of Architects , is named in honor of Charles E. Peterson, FAIA (1906-2004), a founder of the HABS program and is intended to increase awareness, knowledge, and appreciation of historic buildings throughout the U.S. Deadline for submission is June 30, 2010

The only year that a Washington state team and property has been recognized with the Peterson Award was in 1986 when then Washington State University architecture students Steven Nys and David Burger received the top prize for their drawings of the round Leonard Barn located near Pullman.

More detailed information concerning the 2010 Peterson Prize Competition, along with a presentation of the 2009 winning entries, can be found at the Heritage Documentation Programs (HDP) website.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: