Posted by: wadahp | January 27, 2010


The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) and the National Trust
for Historic Preservation are requesting nominations through March 1, 2010,
for the National Trust/ACHP Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic

This award honors outstanding partnerships that advance the preservation of
important historic resources. It celebrates a project or program in which a
federal agency and one or more non-federal partners have achieved an
exemplary preservation outcome. Partners may include Indian tribes and
Native Hawaiian organizations, not-for-profit organizations, individuals,
businesses, state and local governments, and other non-federal persons or

Nominations now are being accepted with a submission postmark deadline of
March 1, 2010. Download the nomination form and view highlights of last year’s award
winner here. (Specific criteria for this award are explained on page 5 of the
nomination form. The form can be completed electronically, but must be
submitted by mail.) A jury of preservation professionals from the National
Trust and the ACHP will review the nominations.

Federal activities have a profound impact on our nation’s cultural
landscape. This national awards program provides an opportunity to showcase
an agency’s commitment to a preservation ethic and gain public awareness of
its accomplishments.

Please share this information as widely and quickly as possible. For more
information contact Patricia Knoll, ACHP Awards Coordinator, at
202-606-1385 or

2010 marks the ninth year for the National Trust/ACHP Award for Federal
Partnerships in Historic Preservation. Past winners include the following:

2009 – Federal Transit Administration, Lower Manhattan Recovery Office and
the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, Lower Manhattan Development
Corporation, and National September 11 Memorial and Museum for Section 106
work related to the Vesey Street Staircase and World Trade Center Site
Preservation Project, New York, New York.
2008 – Department of Energy, Los Alamos National Laboratory along with the
Atomic Heritage Foundation, Crocker LTD/ Crocker & Associates, and the New
Mexico State Historic Preservation Office for the V-Site Restoration
Project in Los Alamos, New Mexico.
2007 – Bureau of Land Management’s Anasazi Heritage Center and Canyons of
the Ancients National Monument for numerous multi-faceted partnerships that
have significantly broadened the scope of preservation and advocacy in the
Four Corners region of the United States.
2006 – General Services Administration and New Mexico State Historic
Preservation Office for the Amy Biehl High School project in downtown
Albuquerque, New Mexico.
2005 – Bureau of Land Management and the Arizona Site Steward Program for
its Arizona-wide project of enlisting volunteers to monitor and protect
archaeological sites.
2004 – National Park Service and the Alliance for National Heritage Areas
(Homestead, Pennsylvania) for the more than two dozen National Heritage
Areas nationwide.
2003 – General Services Administration, along with numerous other federal
and state agencies, organizations and companies, for ensuring the
protection of Governors Island, New York Harbor.
2002 – An unprecedented collaboration among Navy, Coast Guard,
and numerous federal and state agencies, private-sector organizations,
corporations, and individuals for the discovery, raising, restoration, and
interpretation of the Confederate submarine H.L.Hunley off Charleston,
South Carolina.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: